The countdown begins for the Global Teacher Prize 2017


The Global Teacher Prize is a US $1 million award presented annually to an exceptional teacher who has made an outstanding contribution to their profession. The Global Teacher Prize, now in its third year, was set up by Indian-origin entrepreneur Sunny Varkey.

This year’s top 50 was selected from over 20,000 nominations and applications from across 179 countries.

Not to forget Kavita Sanghvi, Principal, MET Rishikul Vidyalaya, Mumbai was one of the Top 50 finalists.


The Top 10 finalists were announced by Jim Yong Kim, President of the World Bank on February 22, 2017. The winner will be announced at the Global Education and Skills Forum in Dubai on March 19, 2017.


The 10 finalists for the Varkey Foundation Global Teacher prize 2017 are:

* Salima Begum, head teacher at Elementary College for Women Gilgit, Pakistan
* David Calle, from Madrid, Spain, the founder and creator of the Unicoos educational website
* Wemerson da Silva Nogueira, a science teacher at the Escola Antônio dos Santos Neves in Boa Esperança, Brazil
* Marie-Christine Ghanbari Jahromi, a physical education, maths and German teacher at Gesamtschule Gescher school, Gescher, Germany
* Tracy-Ann Hall, an automotive technology teacher at Jonathan Grant High School in Spanish Town, Jamaica
* Maggie MacDonnell, a teacher at Ikusik School, Kativik School Board, Canadian Arctic
* Ken Silburn, a science teacher at Casula High School, south-west Sydney, Australia
* Yang Boya, a psychology teacher at The Affiliated Middle School of Kunming Teachers College, Yunnan province, China
* Michael Wamaya, a dance teacher from Mathare, Nairobi, Kenya
* Raymond Chambers, a computer science teacher from Brooke Weston Academy in Corby, Northamptonshire, UK


Nancy Atwell from US and Hanan Al Hroub from Palestine bagged the Global Teacher Prize for 2015 and 2016 respectively.

Now the countdown has begun for the Global Teacher Prize 2017.